top of page

Stille Singer (An Interim story)

Last week I completed Ballads of the Unseen: Song of Change. The next step is editing. Before editing I am a taking a short break from that story. However I wanted to give my fans something to read this week so I chose a short story from my archives which I made some minor tweaks to. This is a character which came to me a few years ago. She has become one of my favorite characters and it is possible there may be other stories featuring her. So without further ado I'll turn it over to Erin

Stille Singer

During the dark ages parents believed infants with anything wrong were changelings. If you had a changeling you placed it outside in hopes the fairies would return your baby. Nowadays it's frowned on, lucky for me. Mind I don't believe I am but... my name means Ireland. My theory is when my parents discovered their little girl would never speak let alone sing they decided their real daughter was transported to Ireland moments after she was born. Alright so I was named after my mother's sister who died before I was born but still Erin? Erin after Antoine Richard II and Siegfried? Now don't misread me I do like my name it is me and it fits so well. Although the name which describes me best is the one I gave myself. Seems my mind is getting ahead of my typing.

I'll start at the beginning. Antoine Richard Suanchen met Maria Smith when they were performing together in some classic opera. Which one doesn't matter but they fell in love with each other. Together they developed a dream: a family of singers. They began singing duets. They took a break for a year when my eldest brother Tony (Antoine Richard Suanchen II) was born. They returned to the stage and recording.

Three years after Tony was born they welcomed Siegfried into the family.

Momma was ecstatic when she found out she was having a girl. She just knew her first daughter was going to be a soprano. At first they considered names such as Marie or Anastasia and then Momma's younger sister Erin died in a car accident so they decided on Erin Antoinette. The day I was born their plans unraveled. My larynx did not form correctly. It can not vibrate to produce sound. I can only imagine my parents' reaction when the doctor told them. I could not even cry so they had to keep an eye on me.

I was taught sign language beginning at the time most toddlers were learning how to speak. My parents were on the road again so only two others attended the classes: Tony and the Nanny.

While the Nanny slept I learned how to speak. Tony says my first word was brother, I'm not sure how true that is but it wouldn't surprise me.

I don't remember the day Marie was born as I was only two however I will never forget the day Anastasia was born. I was four, the age when memories begin to remain in the mind. As the family gathered in Momma's room she announced “Anastasia will be the soprano Erin should have been,”

That December The Nanny took us Christmas Shopping. I sneaked away from her and stood in the line to see Santa. Using my usual sign language I told him I wanted a voice like he gave to Billy in my favorite movie.

Santa made no answer as I slid off his lap.

The Nanny found me and scolded me but I didn't care. Christmas day she would know how I really felt.

Christmas day Santa gave me a doll which I threw across the room.

Tony brought it back to me. He hugged me and whispered a truth he had recently learned: “Santa isn't real.”

I signed back to him “I know. If he was he would have given me a voice.”

He hugged me again “Don't tell anyone else,” he whispered.

Years passed Tony and Siegfried began to travel and record with Momma and Dad. I looked forward to the day when I would travel with them.

In the mean time I managed to drag the Nanny into an instrument store where I picked out a flute. It was the one time she truly seemed to understand what I wanted. Afterward my parents paid for lessons and I began playing in the middle school band. I also began composing my own music and writing down my thoughts.

I was fourteen when my younger sisters Marie and Anastasia were excitedly packing.

I stopped Marie and asked her why they were packing.

“Mom and Dad are taking us with them!” she squealed.

I wondered why I had not been informed of this. I shrugged it off and began my own packing.

Momma, Dad, Tony and Sieg returned for Christmas.

New years day I woke up to shouting “You can't do that! It makes no sense! We're taking Marie and Annie but not Erin?” I recognized Tony's voice.

I climbed out of bed and sneaked down the hall.

Tony saw me but made no acknowledgment.

“Tony we are singers and Erin can't sing. You know that. What would she do? Just stand on stage?”

“She could stay back stage,” Tony suggested “and help behind the scenes.

“No,” my Father answered “we believe it would be better for her to stay here.”

Tears filled my eyes. I swallowed and signed a message to my brother hoping he would pass it on.

Tony nodded “Isn't she a member of this family?” he asked my parents word for word what I had asked.

“Of course she is,” Momma answered with exasperation “It's just we're musicians and Erin... Erin will never be able to sing.”

I frantically signed “What about the flute I was first chair last year,”

“Why not let her play her flute with us?” Tony suggested.

Dad shook his head “Our composer writes music specifically for us and others. There is no part for a flute,”

“Then add one!” Tony shouted.

“It is not that simple son,” Momma said “Erin will remain here and finish school.”

I turned and ran back to my room as the tears began to form in the corners of my eyes.

Tony was the first one in my room followed by our parents. “She heard you,” he informed them “The last few questions were hers.”

“I want to see the world,” I signed.

My parents said nothing.

Tony took one of the notebooks I had written in and skimmed though it.

“Someday maybe but for now there is nothing for you to do,” Momma said

Tony handed me the notebook he had been skimming and winked.

I held it out to my father.

“What is this?” he asked “We don't have time for games.”

“Dad look at it,” Tony encouraged “it's...”

Dad stood and left the room followed my Momma.

Months passed while my family toured the world. They returned with Father in a temper.

“That cheat! How dare he ask for more money when the music he's been giving us is mediocre at best?”

Taking a guess I grabbed an armful of my notebooks and set them down in front of my parents.

“Not now Erin!” Dad snapped “I have no time to look at doodles,”

“It's not doodles” I signed.

Tony helped me collect them when our parents continued to ignore me. When we were out of ear shot of the others he whispered “Tomorrow we're going to publish all your songs and submit them to Mom and Dad.”

I smiled as an idea struck me. I sat at my computer and pulled up an online translation. I typed Silent and found the German word Stille. I pointed at the word and then signed Singer.”

“A pseudonym, Stille Singer,” Tony smiled “The Silent Singer it fits. We'll surprise them with Stille Singer's music and then reveal who it is sound good?”

I nodded and then signed “My price is not negotiable. I will write solely for the Suanchen Family on the condition I travel with them and I provide the instrumental at least some of it.”

“Sounds fair to me,” Tony answered.

So we published my music with Tony signing all of the paperwork since he was twenty and I was still a minor.

I was left out of the family discussion for music choice because it “didn't concern me.” Still I was there as they discussed the music samples. Cautiously I held my flute in my hands.

“Christmas is coming so we need songs for the season.” Father sighed.

“Silent Tidings by Stille Singer,” Momma read. She thumbed through it.

I began to play the introduction.

“Erin not now!” Father snapped.

Momma glanced up with tears in her eyes “My baby,” she whispered “My silent baby... you wrote this?”

I ceased playing and nodded.

“Stille Singer means...” Tony began.

“Silent Singer” Momma finished.

Father blinked as he looked at the music. He cleared his throat “Name your terms Ms. Suanchen,”

“Talk to my agent,” I signed.

Tony laughed “She will write songs solely for the Suanchen Family on the condition she travel with us and she plays the flute when the music calls for it which most of it will,”

“Why the flute?” Momma asked.

I swallowed and signed “You always said I should have been a soprano the flute was the closest I could get and have a decent range,”

Momma blinked back tears and hugged me.

Dad and Momma exchanged a glance “We accept your terms,” Dad said.

That Christmas season several of the Suanchen Family songs made the top twenty world wide.

We continued to travel throughout the year with more of our songs reaching the charts.

Recently one of my nephews asked why I didn't sing. His father Tony smiled “Aunt Erin sings, she sings with her flute and her hands. She is the Silent Singer.”

It was this interaction which inspired me to write down my story. Perhaps it will inspire someone.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page